The ‘Science’ of Astrology

December 30, 2005 at 5:41 pm (Uncategorized)

It is not often that the future actually talks to you. I mean, you can see the past. After all, the stars I see in the sky everyday are all outdated stuff, centuries and eons old by the time I get to see them. But future. That is a different story. Predict the next tsunami. The next Katrina.

So how do the astrologer do it. Most of the time they are wrong. And rightly too (Excuse the oxymoron). What is surprising is that sometimes they get it right to an amazing extent. Statistically not significant. But in practise, staggering. No I am not an astrologer. I think the theory of astrology is so poorly developed no scientific study can be done on it as far as I can predict (Forgive the pun).

Is astrology worth any scientific study. Thanks to the butterfly effect and its cousins, regular science is in a fix about future. So how about some exotic ‘science’. The question is : can futurology be made scietific? And I am not talking about elections.

Leave a comment